CVCA’s annual awards program open for nominations

The Canadian Venture Capital and Private Equity Association (CVCA) recently launched its annual awards program, which is now open for nomination submissions from CVCA members. The program, which recognizes a variety of accomplishments in the Canadian industry, is focused on four categories: Deal of the Year; Entrepreneur of the Year; the Ted Anderson Community Leadership Award, which is named in honour of Canadian venture capital professional Ted Anderson; and the BDC Innovation Award. Award winners will be announced on May 20th, 2015 at the CVCA’s 2015 conference in Vancouver.


CVCA launches annual awards – submission period officially opens

February 13 2015

The CVCA launched its annual awards today marking another year when the association’s members begin submitting nominations to be recognized for a variety of industry accomplishments.

The CVCA Awards highlight outstanding organization and individual achievements in the private capital industry by acknowledging disruptive innovations and Canadian successes that help build a strong domestic economy, as well as commitments to corporate social responsibility.

There are four categories: Deal of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year, the Ted Anderson Community Leadership Award, and the BDC Innovation Award.

The Community Leadership Award was renamed the Ted Anderson Community Leader Award in 2014 to honour Ted’s contributions to the private capital industry. He was a 16 year partner with Ventures West, served as the CVCA’s president from 1996 – 1998, and was recognized for community leadership in 2012 for his venture investing work with SME’s in Africa. Ted Anderson passed away in May, 2014 after a valiant battle with cancer.

All of the awards have distinct criteria, and nominees are asked to follow the nomination guidelines in the downloadable forms. Submissions are to be emailed to by no later than midnight on Friday, April 3, 2015. At that point the CVCA’s awards committee will review each nomination.

Award winners will be officially announced on May 20th, 2015 during a gala event at the CVCA’s 2015 Conference, Capitalizing on Change: Uncertainty & Opportunity in Canada’s Shifting Economy in Vancouver, B.C.

The CVCA awards committee includes committee chair Aki Georgacacos (Avrio Capital), Sandra Bosela, (OPTrust Private Markets Group), Brad Ashely (PRIVEQ Capital Funds), Cody Church (TriWest Capital Partners), Michael Hollend (TorQuest Partners), Richard Kinlough (GE Antares Capital), Whitney Rockley (McRock Capital), Natalie Townsend (North Rock Capital Partners), and Steve Hnatiuk (Lighthouse Equity Partners).

Photo courtesy of Shutterstock